Lucky Latina by Liz Alarcon

Wed, Apr 22, 2020

Read in 2 minutes

Miami Hub, Florida, USA Originally from Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

The sun is setting on another Mond…or is it Tuesday? here in Miami. What are days at this point, anyway. We’re now half way through week six of this quarantine. As the days blur and time loses meaning, the toll that this pandemic is taking on us all is becoming more and more real.

I had the privilege of working remotely before the pandemic started. I lead Pulso, my media startup, where we create content by Latinos for Latinos in the US. One of the rules that guides our work is to create things that we would want to consume. Me and the 11 person Latinx staff are the community we seek to serve. But let’s be real. I may be weathering the same storm as our Pulso audience, but I’m not in the same boat as many of them. I’m a lucky latina.

Latino Americans get infected with Covid-19 at alarmingly high rates and more are dying than we would expect based on their share of the population.

COVID-19 has caused economic havoc on millions of Latinos who are among those suffering the most right now. As the country goes digital, the technology and internet divide is widening. Only 57% of Latinos have computers at home, compared to 82% of white households.

And when it comes to economic security, we’re lacking that too. Millions of Latinos have lost their jobs given our heavy representation in the service and retail industries that are essentially at a standstill. We’re also experiencing wide spread pay cuts, undocumented Latinos will not receive support from the latest stimulus package, and Latino small business owners will see their livelihoods decimated.

These hard truths are weighing on my soul. While I make minor adjustments to be able to confine comfortably in my home, fellow Americans who share my roots are struggling to keep the lights on, keep their head up, and maintain their hope alive. I feel guilty and grateful for my current conditions. I feel angry at the virus and at the handling of this pandemic that’s leaving so many behind. I feel a duty to do as much as I can with what I have.

I’m Liz, and I’m a lucky Latina in the time of #COVID19.