My First Day…. Again, but Different by Greg Donworth

Sun, May 3, 2020

Read in 2 minutes

Philadelphia Hub, Pennsylvania, USA Originally from Saratoga Springs, NY

On April 2nd I was furloughed from my job. I was told it’ll be 90-120 days before they’re able to bring me back into work. I was shocked at first, but quickly became motivated to make the most of my time (see prior post titled My First Day).

In the weeks since this happened, I started a company with my friends, I’ve read several books, I’ve gone above and beyond in my graduate school work and I’ve truly enjoyed my time. For the first time in a long time, everything that I was doing was for me.

Earlier this week I got a call from my supervisor. She mentioned that they wanted to bring me back into work starting Friday May 1st. I was quite taken back, nervous and excited all at the same time. Yes, it’s fantastic that I get to be secure in life again, steady paychecks, promising career opportunities and the chance to prove that I should have never been furloughed in the first place.

On the other hand, I was preparing for 90-120 days of furlough, and after 28 days I’m being brought back in. The work that I was pulled away from 28 days ago has been festering and becoming more dire to get done as soon as possible, and the new responsibilities I’ve gained since my furlough have now become side projects again even though these are where my true passions and interests lie.

As Friday began, I woke with mixed feelings. Hundreds of unread emails, all of which received an automatic reply that I was no longer employed by the company, emails from colleagues wishing me the best of luck after receiving the news of my furlough and my immediate team shrieking of excitement to have me back. It’s a very odd feeling having a second first day with a company. It feels brand new again, but at the same time very familiar, it’s tough to explain.

But beneath all of this confusion, I have a newfound comfort and appreciation for being back at work. In the USA there’s been over 30M unemployment claims in the past ~6 weeks, and I feel absolutely blessed that I am no longer one of them. I am privileged enough that my time on furlough was more of a vacation from my main responsibility than it was a terrible and unfortunate loss of income and livelihood.

Welcome Back.