The Irony of Isolation by Joseph Kolapudi

Sun, May 10, 2020

Read in 3 minutes

Brisbane Hub, Australia

Overwhelmed. Perhaps this word fittingly describes myself in the current situation. Countless others in my hub, my family, my community, my society, my country, my homeland, and those around the world probably share a similar sentiment in the uncertain and unprecedented times we find ourselves in. However, it is the isolation that seems to be the main contributing factor to this sense of overwhelming vulnerability that feels like a trap with no point of escape.

As the days have turned into weeks, and now months of forced isolation, it seems many have dubbed this as the “new normal”. But it seems to me like an abnormal situation that we never wanted nor expected. Some people have passed this period of isolation off as a facade, and have now returned to ‘business as usual. But it seems to me like it’s actually “business as un-usual”. Others have labelled this time of isolation as somewhat of a commonality, a situation we should make the best of, given the circumstances. But it seems to me that it’s uncommonality is what makes the circumstances considerably unprecedented, given the situation as it stands.

But I believe the irony of isolation is actually what brings us together. Despite our social distancing measures, people in the community have found a common bond in our solidarity with one another. In the face of hardship, we have found a way to help others who cannot help but feel overwhelmed. Even in our time of uncertainty, we know for certain that our tendency for generosity will stem from our sense of humanity.

Yet, on a personal level, the indirect effects of the virus have affected me mentally, socially, physically; even spiritually. As a Christian, my faith community has been my steady support for my whole life; and suddenly, the simple act of meeting together has been cut off completely. From a physical standpoint, this shouldn’t have had such an effect on me, as I am a natural introvert; but it has. The need for physical interaction, dialogue, belonging; this has now reached a point of limitation. Socially, I feel unsocial. The tendency to retreat to my room and be alone is now no longer an option; it is a necessity. For young people, such as myself, the toll on mental health, from a personal perspective, has outweighed the financial cost of this crisis beyond monetary calculations.

How is it, then, that I still feel a sense of hope, despite the feeling of seeming hopelessness?

Perhaps it is the reality that we all share the uncertainty of the future, but we decide to press on regardless. It may be that the proverbial light at the end of the tunnel pushes our tendency for procrastination aside and moves us into the trajectory of hope. The need for each other is the one thing we can hold onto for sure in the midst of a world looking for something that keeps us hoping beyond hope.

In the midst of the onslaught of a pandemic no one wanted or wished for, we can know for certain that despite this corona craze, this virus crisis, this polluting pandemic - whatever you want to call it; it is not a pause on life; but rather, at the end of it all, a chance to begin again.