The Shape I'm In: A Poem by George Kamanda

Sat, Apr 11, 2020

Read in 2 minutes

Philadelphia Hub, From Freetown, Sierra Leone

The Shape I’m in

I’m uncertain, yet hopeful

Indeed, I can only be

knowing times are strange, such as those we live in

I can only hope things were different

but how different?

A question I’ m still mulling over.

Would different mean equity for all?

Or better still, would different mean,

we value our human race more?

Or would different be a wake-up call for us all?

I will let you decide

In the shape I’m in,

many calls have been made

but not many have been heard.

I’ve heard of hope,

I’ve heard of resilience

I’ve heard of social or physical distancing

and I’ve heard of togetherness

but are these not the glues to any thriving society?

Should they not be the mainstays of our human discourse?

Again, I will let you decide.

In the shape I’m in,

I can do more than feel

but genuinely question my humanity

while surrendering my sanity,

not to the circumstances,

but to the only living God

His name is Yahweh.

The shape I’m in,

have taught me

to trust the inexpressible kindness of others

irrespective of job titles or societies’ valuation

and I hope,

our leaders, our governing systems,

and the 1% would learn these lessons too.

In the shape I’m in,

I can only embrace the uncertainty

and learn to never take life for granted

In the shape I’m in,

Only Yahweh’s hands can give me peace.